Published?

If you define “being published” as receiving monetary compensation for writing made available to the public, then…I have been published!

Though in a far more realistic sense, I won a flash fiction challenge over at a blog of a writer-type I’ve come to respect and he gave me a copy of one of his books for the honor.

The book is called Irregular Creatures by Chuck Wendig. I haven’t had time to read it yet but looking at the story descriptions it should be pretty wild.

The story that won was limited to 100 words and had to include 3 out of 5 randomly chosen words; Enzyme, Ivy, Bishop, Blister, and Lollipop. Here’s what I came up with:

I still remember what started it. He stole my cherry lollipop. It was my favorite flavor. He stood over me that day, laughing. His fatness shaking with his mirth at my pain.

Days passed into weeks. We fought, he overpowered me. I got in trouble, he skated free. My rage formed a blister on my brain. One I couldn’t lance with a safety pin.

He stopped after that night. I forgot about it until I saw him at the store years later. The scars still kissed his face like unchecked ivy. Lessons taught in pure flame.

Cherry was my favorite.

If you like you can read the other winners and entries to this contest here.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

