October Already?

Wow, so it’s October. Three short months left in the year. It seems like I’m always shocked how fast the year moves by this point. I suppose that’s a pretty standard reaction. Anyway, did some stuff and it’s raining outside right now.

First of all there was that thing about ninjas.

The other thing that’s on my mind again is NaNoWriMo. For those of you not familiar, this is where foolish writerly types attempt to write 50,000+ words of a novel during the month of November. This is not an easy task, last year I tried I gave up around 2000+ words. In order to make it to the “finish line” of 50k, a person needs to write about 1,667 words per day.

I did not make it near that far. I restarted that novel a few months ago and am on up to about 5,000 words now. So I am a slow writer. There are many opinions on NaNoWriMo, most against it are about how terrible the quality of the writing actually is. That’s why December is National Editing Month. Anyway I hope to use this year to try and get in the habit of writing every day. I have an idea for a new book bouncing around and will try to use October to plan so maybe this year I can get closer to “finishing” those 50k. Or who knows, maybe I can do it.

If you’d be interested in trying it out too, the new site will launch on 10/10, I think. What’s up right now on that link is last years competition. Also this article from my new favorite, crazy, internet penmonkey, Chuck Wendig25 Things You Should Know About NaNoWriMo, is a very good read.

If you like writing check that dude out.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

